Shelby County Indiana Family Law

Home/Shelby County Indiana Family Law

Indiana Attorney Will Guide You through Family Law Issues

Family law differs from state to state. Here is a summary of Indiana’s statutory requirements regarding marriage and divorce:


No blood test is required to marry in Indiana, although you must be the age of consent (18), not too closely related to your intended spouse, not be married to anyone else, and have the mental capacity to understand what you are doing. A couple can marry immediately after their marriage license is issued, and the license is valid for 60 days. Indiana does not recognize common law marriage or same-sex marriage.


Indiana is not a community property state and instead allows for the equitable division of marital property. Property and debt issues are typically settled between the parties in a signed marital settlement agreement, or the property award is ordered and decreed by the Domestic relations court within the final dissolution of the marriage decree.

If the parties are unable to reach an agreement regarding property division, the domestic relations court will go through a discovery process to classify which property and debt should be considered marital. Then, a monetary value will be assigned and the assets will be distributed between the parties in an equitable fashion, but not necessarily equal.

If you are facing a family law issue and need competent legal counsel, contact Vanessa López Aguilera online or call (317) 634-9484 to schedule an initial consultation.


What Our Clients Said!

Our Awards & Affiliations